Saturday 4 July 2020

SKU 2020-07-04
In stock
Product Details

Please note: due to the ongoing situation with Covid-19, we reserve the right to change this programme or postpone or even cancel the concert. Please check arrangements nearer the date.

Mendelssohn: Overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Op. 21
Sibelius: Karelia Suite Op. 11
Sibelius: Finlandia Op. 26
Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet Suite no. 2

Exciting musical stories form the focus of this concert. Sibelius’s Karelia Suite and Finlandia both tell tales about his native Finland, rooted in nationalist fervour. Karelia Suite draws on music written to depict historical events in the Karelia region, whilst Finlanda offers a rousing vision of a Finnish independence yet-to-come. The beginning and end of the concert turn to Shakespeare. Mendelssohn’s miraculous Overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream, written when he was just 17, conjures up a magical world of imagination. Prokofiev’s second Romeo and Juliet suite, with its famous March of the Montagues and Capulets paints an altogether more tragic, if beautiful, picture.

Season Tickets are also available.

Save this product for later

Comments are closed.